What tests do I need to take to become certified?


To earn your professional certification through TeacherReady, you will need to pass the three Florida exams: General Knowledge (GK) test, Subject Area Exam (SAE), and Professional Education (PEd) test. These are computer-based exams taken at local testing centers throughout the United States and on some overseas US Military Bases. If you live near a testing center, we recommend that you:

  • Take the Subject Area Exam test before Lesson 3
  • Take the General Knowledge Exam before Lesson 5
  • Take the Professional Education test before Lesson 7

The most important aspect is to prepare for the exams using recommended study materials and practice tests. If you live a long distance from a testing site or you live overseas, you should consider travel expenses when scheduling the three exams. You may choose to take all the exams within a two-day period. All exams cannot be scheduled for the same day.

You can find out more information about these tests at http://www.fl.nesinc.com/. You can also contact the Office of Assessment for more information. Their contact information can be found at http://www.fldoe.org/testing.

Use the following web address to find the testing center closest to you: http://www.fl.nesinc.com/FL_TestDates.asp

Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search